FOR ALL INTERSTATE MOTOR CARRIERS AND PRIVATE MOTOR CARRIERS

The Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Plan and Agreement are part of a Federally-mandated, State-administered program that went into effect September 10, 2007. Under this program, States collect fees from motor carriers, motor private carriers, freight forwarders, brokers and leasing companies, based on the number of qualifying commercial motor vehicles (CMVs) in their fleets. Fee brackets below. (Power units only - the law was amended so that, beginning in 2010, only power units would be counted as qualifying CMV, and trailers are now excluded from determining fleet size.)

Fleet Size Registration Fee
0 To 2 $76.00
3 To 5 $227.00
6 To 20 $452.00
21 To 100 $1,576.00
101 To 100 $7,511.00
1,001 Or More $73,346.00

In order to be in compliance with federal law you must register for the 2017 calendar year by December 31, 2016.

If you operated interstate in the previous year, back to 2016, and did not register in the UCR for those registration years, you must pay the prior year fees to avoid possible enforcement action.

Registration can be made on-line or by your smart phone at www.ucr.in.gov. Payments on-line can be by Visa, MasterCard or Echeck. Click here for a UCR form and instructions or visit www.ucr.in.gov.

Payments by mail may be made in the form of a company, personal or certified check or money order payable to WVPSC (West Virginia Public Service Commission). Please write your USDOT# on the front of your check. Mail your payment together with your completed UCR application form to: WVPSC, Motor Carrier UCR, PO BOX 812, Charleston, WV 25323-0812.

  • YOU MUST SIGN APPLICATION
  • YOU MUST MAINTAIN A LIST OF VEHICLES IF YOU SELECTED OPTION B (SECTION 4)*
  • YOU MUST MAINTAIN A LIST OF THE VEHICLES YOU SUBTRACT FROM THE TOTAL AS INTRASTATE USE ONLY (SECTION 4, LINE 2)*

*Mandated since 2013, carriers are required to “maintain records adequate to substantiate the information reported by the registrant on its application. A registrant must maintain a list of all its vehicles and those subtracted from its UCR count as set forth on UCR forms 1 and 2 or in some other form.” [UCR Agreement, Section 10 (9)]

Public Service Commission of West Virginia
Transportation Division
Motor Carrier Office
Phone 1-800-247-8789
FAX: 304-340-0463

Linda Jarrell
304-340-0346
ljarrell@psc.state.wv.us

Jessica Gordon
304-340-0418
jgordon@psc.state.wv.us

 

Top of Page  |  Home  |  Privacy Statement