Commission and Staff

The Commission regulates those persons, firms or government agencies that provide certain public services including electricity, natural gas, water, sewer, telecommunications, solid waste disposal (landfills) and, to some extent, the transportation of persons and property for hire over the public highways of the State. In addition, the Commission sets statewide policies for utility regulation through rulemaking proceedings; recommends statutory changes that affect utilities and the agency; and sets the administrative policies for the agency.

Motor carriers regulated by the Commission include taxi service, specialized limousine service, solid waste, transportation service, third-party towing and household goods movers.

The Office of the Commission includes three Commissioners, Government Relations, Quality Assurance and Communications sections and support personnel.

Telephone Directory

Name Title Number


  Michael A. Albert   Chairman   304-340-0306
  Karen Marion   Secretary to Chairman Albert   304-340-0306
  Jon W. McKinney   Commissioner   304-340-0307
  Lynada Woods   Secretary to Commissioner McKinney   304-340-0307
  Ryan Palmer   Commissioner   304-340-0303
  Sherry Kennedy   Secretary to Commissioner Palmer   304-340-0303

Commission Staff

  Jerry Bird   Dir. of Government Relations   304-340-0843
  Laura Sweeney   Secretary   304-340-0301
  David Ellis   Director of Quality Assurance   304-340-0454
  Mike Miller   Utilities Analyst   304-340-0351
  Randy Short   Utilities Analyst   304-340-0446
  Susan Small   Director of Communications   304-340-0820
  Martina Johnson   Public Relations   304-340-0836
  Diana Smith   Management Reporting   304-340-0822
  FAX      304-340-3758



Top of Page  |  Home  |  Privacy Statement