* Click on a question to reveal the corresponding answer. *
The Coal Resource Transportation System (CRTS) program was created in 2003 to reorganize and revise weight limitations, overweight fines, penalties for speeding, enforcement of laws and additional requirements pertaining to the transportation of coal or coal byproducts at enhanced weights by commercial motor vehicles on designated routes in West Virginia.
The CRTS rules and regulations can be accessed through the following link: http://www.psc.state.wv.us/CoalTransportation/default.htm
You can call toll free 1-866-SEE-TRUX (1-866-733-8789) to report poor driving or law violations of truck drivers statewide. The hours of operation are 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, but you may leave a voice message after hours and on weekends. Telephone operators will need detailed information, but callers may remain anonymous.
Information from the toll-free hotline will be shared with the Commission’s Weight Enforcement and Motor Carrier officers. The officers will utilize the information to deploy enforcement resources.
The West Virginia Department of Highways (WVDOH) has the authority to designate CRTS routes. An application to add a CRTS must be submitted to the WVDOH. The link to that application is: http://www.transportation.wv.gov/highways/programplanning/preliminary_engineering/Pages/CRTSAPPLICATIONS.aspx.
A map of current CRTS routes can be found at: http://www.transportation.wv.gov/highways/programplanning/preliminary_engineering/Pages/CRTSMAPSANDDIRECTORIES.aspx
No, federal interstate highways cannot be part of the CRTS.
Yes, any person who loads coal or causes coal to be loaded into a commercial motor vehicle that will operate on a CRTS route or any person who accepts unloaded coal from a commercial motor vehicle operating on the CRTS must register the relative site with the Commission. There are a few exceptions, including hospitals and schools. You can find the form to register your facility at: http://www.psc.state.wv.us/CoalTransportation/150CSR27Form2.pdf Or call (304) 340-0846 and ask to have a copy of CRTS Form 2 mailed to you.
CRTS Inspectors conduct periodic onsite inspections within the 19 CRTS counties to ensure mining and trucking companies are registered with the Commission prior to transporting or receiving coal transported on the CRTS.
Yes, companies not registering and/or reporting the shipping and/or receiving of coal shipments that have traveled on the CRTS can be fined up to $100.00 per shipment.
Any company shipping and/or receiving coal transported on the CRTS is required to submit electronic reports either through an electronic file transfer or manual entry of information through the internet on a web-based reporting form by 4:00 p.m. the next business day following the shipment. Each shipment or transaction not reported in a timely or accurate manner is subject to a fine of up to $100.00 dollars.
The Commission receives millions of transactions each year which prohibits the physical review and audit of paper reports in a timely manner. By receiving the reports electronically, they are transferred directly into an auditing program and can be initially audited in a timely manner.
Additional questions relating to electronic reports should be directed to CRTS staff at (304) 340-0846 or (304) 340-0385.
The application should be completed by the owner of the vehicle. If the vehicle is leased, the lessee is deemed to be the owner and should apply unless the lessee is also the vehicle operator, in which case the actual vehicle owner must apply.
CRTS permits can be obtained from the Commission. The application form and instructions can be found at the following link: http://www.psc.state.wv.us/CoalTransportation/150CSR27Form2.pdf
Office hours are from 9:00 am until 4:00 pm Monday through Friday. You may also mail your application and fee to: Public Service Commission of West Virginia Permitting Section P.O. Box 812 Charleston, WV 25323
Companies applying for a CRTS permit must have the following:
The annual permit year runs from January 1 through December 31. Annual fees are pro-rated for partial year registrations.
Maximum gross vehicle weights (GVW) are determined on a road-by-road basis by the West Virginia Division of Highways (WVDOH). Depending on the designation, the maximum CRTS weights that can be hauled by specific vehicle configurations under the following permit classes are:
Annual Processing fees are $100.00 for the first vehicle registered and $25.00 for each additional vehicle.
A CRTS permit sticker is issued with each permit and for the current calendar year. The CRTS sticker must be affixed immediately below the window on driver’s door.
Additional questions relating to CRTS permits should be directed to CRTS staff at 304-340-0846 or 304-340-0371 or toll-free 1-800-344-5113.
For each shipment with a gross vehicle weight in excess of 88,000 pounds in the preceding month, the shipper shall remit to the Commission by the 10th day of each month a payment of 5 cents ($0.05) per ton, applied to the total tonnage of coal involved in each such shipment. For example, if a truck shipment has a gross weight of 100,000 pounds and the truck has a tare weight of 40,000 pounds, the 5¢ would be imposed on 60,000 pounds (5¢ times 30 tons or $1.50). The Commission shall deposit the revenue from these fees in the Coal Resource Transportation Fund. These funds are used as supplemental revenue administered by WVDOH to maintain CRTS routes. Payments should be mailed to:Public Service Commission of West Virginia
Yes, administrative sanctions imposed by the Commission are separate and in addition to any criminal or civil penalties
Penalties may be assessed by either a Uniform Citation issued by an enforcement officer of the Commission or by a written Notice of Violation (NOV) issued based on information obtained from the electronic reporting system or by site inspections conducted by a CRTS inspector. Sanctions may be issued for overweight violations; speeding; or untimely, inaccurate or failure to report shipments
Enhanced penalties will be assessed for second and subsequent offenses that occur within the 12 month period immediately following the date of the Commission Final Order assessing the first offense penalty.
Reporting violations are assessed at the rate of $100.00 per shipment for failure to report, untimely or inaccurate reporting.
See West Virginia Code §17-C-17A-9 for additional penalties that apply to operator/driver, owner without a CRTS permit in violation of weight limits, falsifying information in the acquisition of a permit, altered, forged or counterfeited permit, attempts to bribe an employee of the State of West Virginia for the purpose of avoiding any penalties and aiding or abetting a person’s attempt to avoid suspension.
A written Notice of Violation (NOV) to be issued to a shipper, receiver, owner and/or driver, must be issued no later than 30 days from the date of the issuance of the citation or no later than 30 days from receipt of information from a coal electronic shipment report. The NOV will be issued by the Commission and sent by certified mail, return receipt requested.
Yes. The request for a hearing the request must be made in writing and received by the Executive Secretary of the Public Service Commission no later than 20 days from the receipt of the NOV. The request should identify whether the person is a shipper, owner or lessee, driver or receiver. A copy of any citation issued should be enclosed.
Your case will be forwarded to a Hearing Examiner of the Commission, who will set the case for hearing. Hearings are held at the Commission Headquarters, 201 Brooks Street, Charleston, WV. The proceeding will be electronically recorded by audio and/or video equipment. Individuals may appear and represent their own interests. Corporations must be represented by an attorney licensed to practice in the State of West Virginia. Decisions will be made by written Order. An initial decision will become a Final Order of the Commission if an appeal is not timely filed. An appeal to the initial decision may be made to the Division of Administrative Law Judges (ALJ) by filing an appeal within 10 days of the initial decision. Appeals will be assigned to an ALJ, who will review the record. The ALJ will have the right to adopt, modify or reject the initial decision and if deemed necessary, conduct further hearing proceedings. Petitions for appeal of an ALJ decision may be made to the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals by filing a Petition within 30 days from the date of the Final Order.
If a violation is found, the violator shall pay the costs of the Commission proceedings as follows:
If no hearing is requested, a written Final Order will be issued by the Commission confirming the violations cited in the NOV. Monetary penalties are payable to the Commission no later than 10 days after the Order becomes final. A copy of the NOV and payment should be mailed to:Public Service Commission of West Virginia